A Jumbled Playlist.

Hi…I’m still alive! It seems the weeks have kind of been getting away from me. School is starting to pile up a little bit and I’ve been searching the corners of my mind for something to make me want to sit down and write a post. I can tell when I’m onto to something, when I have the urge to get something out. But – nothing. Well, of recently that is. I don’t want to try and force myself to write because I feel a responsibility to. I want to write when I get a feeling and just know that the idea in my head is burning and needs to get out. So, as a bit of an apology, here is something to tide you over; a playlist of 10 songs I’ve been loving recently. The song’s I’ve probably been, more literally, living and feeling and of course singing along to, with a short explanation of why I love them. Let’s go!

Jackie and Wilson – Hozier.
I can’t explain to you how much I repeated this song over and over throughout summer. I love this song and I’m still not sick of it. I love the way the chords move, the rhythm beats inside my bones and the image it paints in my mind. Also lyrically it could not be more perfect. I’m fascinated with the idea of idealized love and Hozier perfectly words this song – and all his songs for that matter. I recommend his whole debut album; it’s changed my world. Favourite lyric: “She blows out of nowhere, roman candle of the wild, laughing her way through my feeble disguise.

Mushaboom – Feist. 
With it’s bouncy piano melody and Feist’s completely intriguing voice it is almost impossible to not get this stuck in your head. It makes me feel all tingly and happy. I discovered this first in the movie “500 days of Summer” and instantly I was so in love. If you feel down, put this on and watch the smile grow on your face! Favourite lyric: “Helping the kids out of their coats, but, wait the babies haven’t been born?

Lonely People – Orla Gartland. 
This song is the definition of infectious. Orla is a Irish singer who I found on YouTube and after I heard this song it was all I listened to for about a week. It’s melody gets stuck in your head and suddenly you’re up on your feet dancing along. Favourite lyric: “I’m not sure I’ve got the heart for this and maybe that’s the hardest part of it.” & ” I think we’re gonna regret these hair cuts.

You’re Such A – Hailee Steinfeld. 
This is not what I’d usually listen to, but, I can’t not sing along to this. I have to chant the lyrics along with the song because it makes me feel so powerful. This is such a feel-good song and I can guarantee it’ll have you dancing around your kitchen like it does with my sister and I. Favourite lyric: “Damn you’re such a difficult little devil trying to put it back together cause you see I’m doing better without you now.

Eleanor Rigby – The Beatles. 
An oldie but a goldie! I’ve been on a bit of a Beatles splurge lately and this is the one I’ve found myself coming back to. The sharp jabs of the violin and the somewhat kinetic flow of the song – like you’re moving through the trees in a forest – interest me immensely. A story of two lonely people who only meet when it’s too late and I think that’s heartbreaking and I adore this song. Favourite lyric: “Waits at the window, wearing the face that she keeps in a jar by the door. Who is it for?

Soundcheck – Catfish and the Bottlemen. 
I love the sort of urgency of the song, how it starts immediately and suddenly you’re thrown into the mix; loving a musician who leads you on and then leaves you in the dust. Those slick guitar strums in the pre-chorus make me grit my teeth – in a good way! If there is a good way to grit you’re teeth… I love that you can really hear the drums and the guitars. Also the lead vocals by Van Mccann are as good as always! Favourite lyric: “Maybe I don’t act the way I used to because I don’t feel the same about you. In fact, that’s a lie, I want you.

Chewing Gum – Nina Nesbitt.
Again, this is a certain type of song I usually wouldn’t listen to, but, you could say it stuck (ha ha). What’s funny is that this is also COMPLETELY different to what anyone was used to of Nina and I’m still not sure how I feel about that, but I love this song. Try sing along and try and actually hit the notes, because I’m not going to lie, it’s really freaking hard. Her vocals are on point and I know she produced this whole thing which is really cool. Definitely a party song – well party of one in my case. Favourite lyric: “You can have my heart, but you’re not gonna leave with it.

Cherry Wine – Hozier. 
This is a faultless song. Truly I can find absolutely nothing wrong with it and it has yet to not stop me in my tracks when it comes on shuffle. It’s so incredibly beautiful. Even though it is only guitar picking, at no point do I feel like it’s incomplete. In fact it emphasizes it’s meaning of domestic abuse by feeling kind of empty. Hozier recorded it live on the top of a old hotel at the break of dawn. The birds are waking up just as the person in the song is. And as it ends you’re left with silence and then the chirping of birds, the sound of hope. Cherry Wine is a masterpiece and maybe one of my most favourite songs, ever. Favourite lyric: Every single line is like poetry.

Pack up – Eliza Doolittle.
Okay, this one’s the definition of infectious as well. Also irresistible, contagious and a whole lot of fun. The big brass melody under Eliza’s singing makes it have such a big sound. I want to listen to this song forever, pack up my troubles in an old kit bag and dance my life away. Favourite lyric: “I don’t care what the whisperers say because they whisper too loud for me.

If I Ain’t Got You – James Bay (Alicia Keys cover) 
There had to be a James Bay song. I love what he’s done with the chords and how he’s rearranged it; sometimes playing the chords but adding his little licks and picking. I love the way he makes the song move with him, starting out quiet, then building towards the chorus. Again, I think the simplicity of only the guitar really works because you’re completely focused on James and his singing. It’s sung live and there is no faults in his voice. It’s bluesy and soulful and I dig it. Favourite line: The way he says babe.

Stay Gracious
Love Brecon xx

Leave a Reply

